Monday, June 22

Daily WHUFC News - 22nd June 2015 - Europa League

First qualifying round seeding groups announced

West Ham United will discover who they will face in the UEFA Europa League
first qualifying round in Monday's draw.

The first European competition draws of the season are made in Nyon,
Switzerland at 12pm as the Hammers begin their first continental campaign
since 2006/07.

Slaven Bilic's side are seeded for the draw, which has been broken down
further into seeding groups with five potential opponents awaitinf the

Azerbaijan's Qabala FK, KF Renova of Macedonia, Lusitans FC of Andorra,
Wales' Newtown AFC or FK Olimpic Sarajevo from Bosnia-Herzegovina lie in
wait and you can read more about our potential opponents here.

Qabala FK (Azerbaijan)

Based in the Azerbaijan city of Gabala (also known as Qabala), the most
ancient city in the country, which has a population of 12,808, while the
football club was founded in 2005 and play at the 8,000-capacity Qabala City
Stadium. Qualified for the competition by finishing third in the Azeri
Premier League last year - equalling their best ever finish. This is their
second season in European competition, having been defeated in the first
qualifying round of the UEFA Europa League by Bosnia-Herzagovina's Siroki
Brijeg in 2014/15.

KF Renova (FYR Macedonia)

Based in Dzepciste, Macedonia, the town is located in the range of Sar
Mountain and has a population of 4,200. However, they play in the City
Stadium Tetovo in the nearby town of Tetovo, which has a capacity of 15,000.
KF Renova were founded in 2003 and were the fourth placed team in the
Macedonia First League in 2014/15. They were league champions in 2009/10 and
cup winners in 2011/12. Their best European performance is a second
qualifying round appearance in the UEFA Champions League, while this is
their fourth UEFA Europa League qualifying campaign.

FC Lusitans (Andorra)

Lusitans are based in Andorra la Vella, the capital of the principality. The
football club were formed in 1999 and are also known as Lusitanos. The
club's name, crest and kit reflect its Portuguese identity and they play at
the 1,000-capacity Camp d'Esports d'Aixoval. Twice league champions in
2011/12 and 2012/13, they booked their place in the UEFA Europa League by
finishing as runners-up last year. This will be their third participation in
the Europa League and have lost in the first qualifying round in their
previous attempts.

Newtown AFC (Wales)

Welsh Premier League side Newtown are based in the town of the same name, in
Powys mid-Wales. They are one of only three teams who have unbroken
membership of Wales' top division since its foundation in 1992, and they
have been in existence since 1875. Their Latham Park stadium holds 5,000
fans and they have twice finished as runners-up in the Welsh top division,
as well as winning the domestic cup twice in the 19th century. They won a
play-off to qualify for the UEFA Europa League and this is their first
European appearance since 1998/99.

FK Olimpic Sarajevo (Bosnia-Herzegovina)

Bosnia-Herzegovina representatives Olimpic Sarajevo were founded in 1993 and
play at the 3,000-capacity Stadion Otoka in the nation's capital. They made
it to the top division for the 2009/10 campaign and finished sixth last
season. They qualified for Europe for the first time by winning the
Bosnia-Herzegovina Cup last term and will take their place alongside West
Ham in the first qualifying round of the UEFA Europa League.

The draw will be made at 12pm and can be watched live on


This email has been checked for viruses by Avast antivirus software.

No comments: